Never give up

Pam’s Journey ~ Day: 341

Miles walked: 951

Miles remaining: 49

Days remaining: 25

This week has been trying. If there was an obstacle any where near me, I seemed to find it. It’s been one of those times when I just wanted to stop. Stop working so hard, stop trying so hard, and just stop for awhile. I hate that feeling. I’m more of a “keep pushing, don’t stop, everything will work out if you keep going” kind of gal.

The “keep going” has been part of the problem. I wanted to finish my first 1000 miles before I took on anything else in my life that would interfere with it.  Then other things (life) started happening that were taking a lot of my time, but I was still determined to finish my initial commitment of 1000 before I really let them get too big.  Now that I’m nearing the end, I thought I could start concentrating on some other things. The more I concentrated on them, and the more time and effort that I spent on anything else, the worse everything was doing. It was starting to feel like a failure before I even got started. It felt like I was sinking… and I don’t do failure very well.

Then it hit me.. I guess I do fail pretty decent. What I don’t do well, is Give Up.  I fail awesomely well at times! I even fail hilariously well at some things! If you’ve ever tried one of my cooking concoctions, then you know what I’m talking about. My favorite failure of recent is a shake that I was making for the first time. It was supposed to be a mint chocolate chip Herbalife shake that my daughter and I had tasted, loved, and wanted to make it a regular at our house… Well. Measuring the mint extract didn’t work out so well for me so it was a little extra minty. OK, it was a LOT extra minty. HUGE failure! I’m telling you that it was an awesomely hilarious failure and we drank those super extra minty shakes in record time and then we renamed it the “Date Shake” because we had minty mouths the rest of the night!

What I’m saying is that even if you think you’re failing at something, it’s OK because chances are that you’re succeeding at something else. Don’t give up. Giving up means you start over again and again and that can be pretty exhausting. Just keep going through the failures. Laugh them off. Shake them off. I needed to remember that this week. Just keep going because your time will come.

for though a righteous man falls seven times, he rises again…. ~ Proverbs 24:16

I want to be an encouragement to others. I want my life to make a difference in the life of others. I even want my failures to be an inspiration if that would help another person. So, I’m going to keep moving and keep going. I’m going to work on me and seek God to guide me on the paths that He wants me to be on. Maybe some of the disappointment that I found this week is because I’m not on the path that God has planned out for me. I would much rather fail with my plan now that to miss the one that He has for me, because His is bound to be much better than what I can even imagine.

The Lord will guide you always; he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail. ~ Isaiah 58:11

I won’t give up. What ever you’re going through… don’t give up. Find a success in your failures and keep going, but never give up. 


Categories: Walk with JESUS | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

